About IATES Organisation IATES Team Infrastructure Contact Us
    Quick Links
Symposia and Seminars
Short Courses
Sponsoring Organizations
Organisation : Chairman

Prof. Dr. Prafulla Kumar Jena is a scientist and technologist of international repute and very well known for his examplary contributions towards conservation and development of Mineral resources, developing new processes for extraction of high valued metals from their ores, recovery of metal values from wastes and environmental protection. It may be mentioned here that, Prof. Jena is pioneer in realizing the prospects of Sponge Iron industries in India and introducing R & D work in production of Sponge Iron. He is also the leader in developing processes for production of high valued metals like niobium, tantalum, vanadium, tungsten and molybdenum in India.

Dr. Jena has made very significant contributions in these areas through planning and executing various R & D projects as Senior Scientist in Bhaba Atomic Research Centre, Professor & Head of the Department of Metallurgy at Banaras Hindu University (BHU), Director, Regional Research Laboratory (RRL), Bhubaneswar, Director General, Council of Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR), New Delhi, First Distinguished Professor of the Tata Chair in Metallurgical Engineering at IIT, Kharagpur, Senior Visiting Professor at Tohoku University, Japan and Catholic University of Rio-de-Janeiro, Brazil and presently as the Chairman of the Institute of Advance Technology & Environmental Studies (IATES), Bhubaneswar.

For his outstanding contributions in different areas of Science and Technology, Prof. Jena received a large number of National and International awards and recognitions. He has received National Metallurgist award in 1969, Padmashree in 1977, Federation of Indian Chamber of Commerce and Industries award in 1982, President of Engineering Section of Indian Science Congress in 1988, delivered the prestigious Dr. Dayaswarup Memorial Lecturer of Indian Institute of Metal in 1991, honoured by Institution of Engineers (India) for distinguished and meritorious services and his dedicated contribution to the society in 1998, Life time Achievement in Chemistry from Ravenshaw Chemistry Alumni Association, Ravenshaw University in 2008 and Distinguish Services Award 2008 from Department of Metallurgical Engineering, Banaras Hindu University.

Prof. Jena is associated with a number of prestigious Scientific and Engineering organizations. He is a Life Fellow of Indian Academy of Sciences, Life Fellow of the Institution of Engineers (India), Life Fellow of Indian Institute of Metals and Life member of Indian Science Congress, Ex-Member of the Planning Board of Orissa, Ex-Director of the Industrial Development Corporation of Orissa, Ex-President of Vigyan Academy, Orissa, Ex-Chairman of Engineering Group of Laboratories, CSIR, Ex-President of Engineering Section of Indian Science Congress etc.

Since Prof. Jena received Padmashree in 1977, he has made many more outstanding contributions in the areas of Mineral resource conservation, Industrial development, Waste management and Development of technical education and research. Some of his important contributions are summarized below.